Helpful ReplyUDP over WiFi questions (PIC32 with MRF24WB0MA or WG)

Starting Member
2013/09/24 08:05:27
I'm a 28 year veteran embedded software engineer. The embedded web page demo works well and I'm able to customize it with live data off a CAN bus, but getting UDP to work on a PIC32 with an MRF24WB0MA is about to knock me down. I'd like to have one PIC32 module be an UDP server and another be the UDP client. All I'm after is a simple AdHoc connection between them. If someone has done this, PM me and I'll pay you for a working example if it includes both client and server.

A few assumptions/questions that I'd appreciate comments on:
  • Is there any reason why a particular node can't be a UDP Server or a Client? The way I read it, the only difference is the Server is waiting for someone to speak before responding. The client sets up the link before sending a command. Are there any other protocol setup differences?
  • Going through the steps of setting up a link (please comment on whether I understand this correctly): The server broadcasts an SSID on an IP address (169.254.1.1). The client opens a socket on that IP address then sends a command. The server responds to the command. The client closes the socket. Is it any more complicated than that?
  • On the client side, why does UDPOpenEx() always return a valid socket even if I intentionally mess up the IP address? The code that I copied from a Microchip Demo checks for MySocket == INVALID_UDP_SOCKET before failing. MySocket is always valid. I'll admit that I'm probably missing something. I use the PC and WireShark to verify that the server's SSID is up and available.
  • The final goal is a WiFi Direct implementation. I have an MRF24G demo board arriving tomorrow and will order another one so I have a pair. I'm a little worried that the WiFi Direct portion of the demo is not fully implemented. The demo sourcecode makes it look very simple.